Help → Upgrade is a degrade

Upgrade is a degrade

I've been running POPFile for several years now - possibly since v0.18 or earlier and up until now it has worked perfectly, but had not felt the need to upgrade to the more recent builds [If it ain't broke ...].

With a new machine build just completed over the weekend I figured it might be good to install the latest version: what I got is something that - as far as my mail client is concerned - doesn't work at all.

The old version of POPFile was configured to do both header injection thus ...

X-Text-Classification: spam
X-POPFile-Link: http://127.0.0.1:8080/jump_to_message?view=253583

and to modify the subject line with the string " [spam] " at the start of the subject line.

The "new" version is set to do the same - except that it doesn't do anything of the kind. No subject modification and no X-Text-Classification or X-POPFile-Link headers.

AntiVirus? [Avast] configuration is identical to the previous version.

Since I still have my old machine I am able to compare the old and new configurations: they're effectively identical; same magnets, same buckets etc etc.

I've looked at every setting in the UI, and all the configuration files I can find and can see no reason why this should be happening. If anyone has a clue I'd be very grateful for some pointers.

RN

• Message #1248

Maybe look at the toptoo setting maybe the email cleint is doing a two pass mail gatehr so it nevers see the added text. If you look at the Popfile web list of the emails do they have the data you're looking for but your email client doesn't see it or is it not in the popfile detail of the email either?

bk

• Message #1249

Thanks for the thought but no; that is not it.

Settings on the old machine are identical to those on the new.
      Old machine with old version of POPFile works, new machine with current version of POPFile does not. There are no POPFile X Headers visible in POPFile Web UI or in the mail client.

• Message #1250