Help → Popfile suddenly started falling over

Popfile suddenly started falling over

I've been running popfile for several years. Recently my PC motherboard died, so I invested in a new PC running Vista. I installed the latest stable release of popfile and got it working fine.

Today when I rebooted, I got some new updates (not sure what yet). Since then, I've been getting an error message from Vista saying that "popfile has stopped and that it's looking for possible solutions..." I thought it might have been an issue with running it from the task scheduler, but it happens even when starting it by hand. I've looked at the logfile, but there doesn't seem to be anything unusual in it.

Anyone else getting this? Any ideas what to look for in Vista?

• Message #236

Any ideas what to look for ...

If POPFile is shutting down expectedly it might be generating some console messages which give the reason for the shutdown. Normally these messages are hidden. If you shutdown POPFile and then use the Message Capture utility to run POPFile then you'll be able to see (and save) these console messages:

Start -- All Programs -- POPFile -- Support -- Message Capture utility

I've looked at the logfile, but there doesn't seem to be anything unusual in it

By default the logger_level is set to 0 which means POPFile's logfile does not contain a lot of detail. You can use the ADVANCED page in the UI to increase the amount of detail: change the logger_level to 1 or 2 and click the "Update" button to save this configuration change.

Be warned that at level 2 the logfile will contain a lot of detail, including the full text of every email message POPFile processes. I suggest you try using logger_level set to 1 at first - these logfiles are easier to read.

The Windows version of POPFile comes with a diagnostic program which checks your installation:

Start -- All Programs -- POPFile -- Support -- PFI Diagnostic utility (full)

If you post the report here it might have some clues for me.