Open Discussion → My POPFile Stats

My POPFile Stats

Hello.

I've been using POPFile since 2004. I use 2 buckets, despite knowing that having multiple buckets leads to more accurate filtering. My logic was that I use POPFile for one reason - to differentiate between legitimate and illegitimate messages - and therefore wanted to train it to walk a fine line. I use Pegasus Mail with a domain that is 10+ years old, a personal e-mail address that gets way too much spam and a "spam" e-mail address (for newsletters and crap) that I am positive gets sold to just about everybody. For about a third of the past three years I have been using POPFile with "catch-all" (from a dozen or so domains) being sent to my "spam" e-mail.

In May of 2007 I reset my statistics because I had reached what I considered a fully functional filtering state. That is, to say, I hit 99% accuracy.

I meant to post my stats in this past May but moved cross country. Here they are. (ignore the "last reset" date, I just reinstalled POPFile and this database on a new computer)

http://www.redlinewhiteline.com/images/popfile.png

I find that my database has no trouble keeping up with the continual evolution of spam tactics. Every couple of weeks they try a new one that sneaks past POPFile's filtering and all I need do is flag one message as spam and I am "in the clear" again. One advantage of using POPFile with Pegasus is that by utilizing Pegasus's built-in whitelist it is extremely easy to catch false positives - it has been a good long while since a 'personal' e-mail skated by as 'spam'.

I realize most of this info is probably utterly useless, but I thought I would post about my setup.

Thanks for making such an awesome program.

Bryce

• Message #1353

I realize most of this info is probably utterly useless, but I thought I would post about my setup.

It is not useless, it makes a nice change from getting complaints!