Documentation Problems → TWO POP3 ports

TWO POP3 ports

Hello POPFile

I am confronted with a new situation for which I haven't found a solution in the forums:

I get mail from two servers into my Thunderbird, one uses POP3 listen port 110, and the other POP3 listen port 995.

Thus my question: how can I get POPFile to manage two POP3 ports at the same time, resp. how do I to configure POPFile to do it?

Please note that I am a simple amateur in this field.

Thank you for your help!

• Message #1723

I get mail from two servers into my Thunderbird, one uses POP3 listen port 110, and the other POP3 listen port 995

Port 110 is used for normal POP3 mail and port 995 is used for POP3 mail servers that require an SSL connection. POPFile can handle both types of connection.

The POPFile wiki has a page that explains how to configure Thunderbird to make it use POPFile to classify your POP3 mail: Mozilla / Netscape / Thunderbird Configuration

To make POPFile classify your incoming POP3 mail some small changes have to be made to the account settings in Thunderbird.

It is easier to start with the account that uses port 110 as fewer changes need to be made.

I'll use 'pop.example.com' as the POP3 mail server name and 'myusername' as the User Name for the mail account.

(1) POP3 mail using port 110

(1a) Thunderbird settings for POP3 Account using port 110 without POPFile

Server Name          : pop.example.com     Port: 110
    User Name            : myusername
    Connection Security  : None
    Authentication method: "Password, transmitted insecurely" or perhaps simply blank

(1b) Thunderbird settings for POP3 Account using port 110 with POPFile classifying POP3 mail

Server Name          : 127.0.0.1           Port: 110
    User Name            : pop.example.com:myusername
    Authentication method: "Password, transmitted insecurely" or perhaps simply blank

Note: Only the "Server Name" and "User Name" settings get changed in Thunderbird for this account